California Boater Card
Did you know? Starting January 1, 2021, all persons under 40 years of age must have a valid California Boater Card to operate a vessel in California waterways.
Beginning in 2018, the State of California started phasing in requirements for Boater Cards among vessel operators in the state. CA will be requiring Boater Cards for all persons operating a vessel in California waterways by year 2025.
What is a California Boater Card? The California Boater Card is issued by the California State Parks Division of Boating and Waterways and shows that the holder has taken and passed the National Association of State Boating Law Administration/state-approved boater safety education exam. Once issued, the card if valid for life.
Are there exemptions? Yes. For example, exemptions are made for people operating a rental vessel, persons operating a vessel under direct supervision of a person 18 years of age or older who is in possession of a California Boater Card, a person who is in possession of a valid commercial fishing license, etc.